Partenaires

logo Sphere
CNRS
Logo Université Paris-Diderot Logo Université Paris1-Panthéon-Sorbonne


Search

On this website

On the whole CNRS Web


Home >
Centre CHSPAM


Centre CHSPAM

CENTRE D’HISTOIRE DES SCIENCES & DES PHILOSOPHIES ARABES ET MEDIEVALES (CHSPAM) /
CENTER OF HISTORY OF SCIENCES & ARAB AND MEDIEVAL PHILOSOPHIES


Presentation Members
Activities Publications
Access to Gramata



The Center of History of Sciences and Arab and Medieval Philosophies, founded in 1972 by Jean Jolivet et Roshdi Rashed, focuses his research mainly on the history of science (astronomy, mathematics, physics) and philosophies, from antiquity to the classical age, while focusing on located at the hinge of Greek, Syriac, Arabic, Byzantine, Latin and Hebrew traditions. Particular attention is given to the study of the Middle Ages. Other works (in the history of applied sciences) deal with scientific exchanges between various cultural areas in the nineteenth century.


Born from the desire of the CNRS to invest in the field of the history of Arab and medieval sciences and philosophies, the Center occupies today, thanks to the human and scientific means at its disposal, an eminent and recognized international position in the field of research that is his. In fact, by the quality and the number of publications that come out of it, by the initiatives taken by its members in the organization of its activities, the state of research in several sectors is no longer what it was. only a few decades ago.


It is indeed thanks to this institution and its members that there exists today a Society-International Academy of History of Sciences and Arab Philosophies (SIHSPAI); two international journals, Arabic Sciences and Philosophy (Cambridge University Press) and Aleph: Historical Studies in Science and Judaism; notebooks, Oriens-Occidens; collections in France and abroad, etc. The Center has become a place where foreign professors like to stay for a while, to acquire knowledge and experience.


The Center is also bound by several cooperation agreements with foreign institutions (Japan, Italy, Morocco, etc.). It has organized no less than four summer schools in three years, as well as several international symposia. He has also undertaken several collective research projects, fundamental for some (major editions), applied for others (multi-language lexicon).


The Center of History of Sciences and Arab and Medieval Philosophies is a team of SPHERE, joint research unit of CNRS and higher education (UMR 7219), associated with the University Paris 7 Diderot and University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. It houses the Gramata team of this last university.






-->

Partenaires

logo Sphere
CNRS
Logo Université Paris-Diderot Logo Université Paris1-Panthéon-Sorbonne


Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS


Accueil du site >



Centre CHSPAM





Centre CHSPAM

JPEG


Le Centre d’Histoire des Sciences et des Philosophies Arabes et Médiévales est une équipe de SPHERE, unité mixte de recherche du CNRS et de l’enseignement supérieur (UMR 7219), associée à l’Université Paris 7 Diderot et à l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Il abrite en son sein l’équipe Gramata de cette dernière université.


Fondé en 1972 par Jean Jolivet et Roshdi Rashed, ses axes de recherche s’orientent principalement vers l’histoire des sciences (astronomie, mathématiques, physique) et des philosophies, depuis l’Antiquité jusqu’à l’âge classique, tout en se situant à la charnière des traditions grecque, syriaque, arabe, byzantine, latine et hébraïque. Une attention particulière est accordée à l’étude du Moyen Âge. D’autres travaux (en histoire des sciences appliquée) portent sur les échanges scientifiques entre diverses aires culturelles au XIXe siècle.


Né de la volonté du CNRS d’investir dans le domaine de l’histoire des sciences et des philosophies arabes et médiévales, le Centre occupe aujourd’hui, grâce aux moyens humains et scientifiques dont il dispose, une position internationale éminente et reconnue dans le champ de recherches qui est le sien. De fait, par la qualité et le nombre des publications qui en sont issues, par les initiatives prises par ses membres dans l’organisation de ses activités, l’état de la recherche dans plusieurs secteurs n’est plus ce qu’il était il y a seulement quelques décennies.


C’est en effet grâce à cette institution et à ses membres qu’il existe aujourd’hui une Société-Académie Internationale d’Histoire des Sciences et des Philosophies Arabes (SIHSPAI) ; deux revues internationales, Arabic Sciences and Philosophy (Cambridge University Press) et Aleph : Historical Studies in Science and Judaism ; des cahiers, Oriens-Occidens ; des collections en France et à l’étranger, etc. Le Centre est du reste devenu un lieu où les professeurs étrangers aiment à séjourner quelque temps, pour y acquérir savoir et expérience.


Le Centre est également lié par plusieurs accords de coopération à des institutions étrangères (Japon, Italie, Maroc, etc.). Il a organisé pas moins de quatre écoles d’été en trois ans, ainsi que plusieurs colloques internationaux. Il a aussi entrepris plusieurs projets collectifs de recherche, fondamentale pour certains (grandes éditions), appliquée pour d’autres (lexique multi-langues).





Publications : grandes éditions

Grandes éditions du Centre


Publications : revues

Revues du Centre


Publications récentes

Toutes les publications du laboratoire


EVENEMENTS 2014-2015

Decembre 2014

Toutes les activités du Chspam du mois.


Rationalité plurielle. Sciences, philosophie, kalam dans l’Islam classique

8, 9 et 10 octobre 2014. 9e colloque de la S. I. H. S. P. A. I. Institut du Monde Arabe et Université Paris Diderot.


Colloque en l’honneur d’Annick Jaulin : "Aristote en tant que..."

11 et 12 septembre 2014, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Organisation : Jean-Baptiste Brenet (Université Paris 1, Gramata-SPHERE).


-->