Partenaires

logo Sphere
CNRS
Logo Université Paris-Diderot Logo Université Paris1-Panthéon-Sorbonne


Search

On this website

On the whole CNRS Web


Home > Axes of research > History and Philosophy of Science of Nature

History and Philosophy of Science of Nature


This axis is intended to accommodate any member of SPHERE whose work relates, in whole or in part, to the history and / or philosophy of the natural sciences. It therefore includes research on natural philosophy, natural history, the physical sciences (including chemistry), and the life and earth sciences from antiquity to the present day in all geographical areas. Without excluding the study of contexts in the broad sense, it is nevertheless characterized by a particular interest in scientific or philosophical contents.

Thematics of research / Seminar / Members /


  • 1 Natural Philosophy and Natural Sciences from Antiquity to the 16th Century 2018–2022
    Natural philosophy covers, for the period concerned, a broad spectrum of disciplines : from the theory of elements to cosmology, from mineralogy to a part of psychology, through meteorology, botany and zoology. It is based on the general theory of movement and for neighborhood disciplines on the one hand the so-called intermediate sciences: static, mechanics, optics, music, and on the other hand the disciplines of application such as medicine, alchemy, astrology.
  • 2 Natural history and life sciences in modern and contemporary times 2018–2022
    This theme brings together research on the history and philosophy of the disciplines devoted to living things (eg natural history, anatomy, neurosciences, evolutionary sciences ...) and the conceptions associated with these fields, From the end of the Renaissance to the present day. Particular emphasis is placed on the emergence of new notions, their stakes, their transformations and their links with the contexts. The approaches adopted are varied, and if conceptual history is privileged, it is within the framework of a close dialogue with epistemology, the history of practices, institutions, scientific texts and images, etc.
  • 3 Methods, instruments and institutions of modern and contemporary physics 2012–2017
    This theme regroups several themes of research of the former axis "Physics and philosophy" of Rehseis. One of these themes was rather theoretical and concerned the modes, levels and orders of description in the physical sciences. The other was experimental and involved measurement and metrology. Finally, some researchers of the old axis addressed institutional issues such as the organization of mathematical physics in France in the first half of the nineteenth century. These three themes are highly interwoven.
  • 4 Science of Nature, Mathematics and Philosophy 2018–2022
    The natural sciences, their history and their possible relationship to mathematics are susceptible to philosophical inquiries aimed at defining their concepts, objects, purposes and methods. Some researchers in the unit conduct this inquiry directly, scrutinizing the foundations or practices of the sciences under consideration. Others prefer to comment and exploit the reflections of actors in these sciences. Still others are interested in the interrelationships between science and philosophy at a given time. The combination of these three approaches and the combination of the skills of historians, scientists and philosophers define the kind of philosophy of science here proposed.


Seminars


Members / Thematics /

In Charge
DARRIGOL Olivier
HASNAOUI Ahmad
SCHMITT Stéphane
Researchers - Phd Students - Post-docs
BARBARA Jean-Gaël
BEN GHACHEM Asma
BENSAAD Meyssa
BOSSI Laura
BRIZAY Eric
BUSTAMANTE Martha-Cecilia
CATREN Gabriel
CERAMI Cristina
CHÉRICI Céline
CORDONIER Valérie
D’HOMBRES Emmanuel
DAUDON Vincent
DE COURTENAY Nadine
DORON Claude-Olivier
DUPONT Jean-Claude
FRANCESCHELLI Sara
FREUDENTHAL Gad
FRIC Jacques
GACHELIN Gabriel
GRÉGIS Fabien
JAULIN Annick
KATOUZIAN Mehrnaz
LACKI Jan
LADE Quentin
LAMOUCHI CHEBBI Kaouthar
LAY Juliane
MARTINEZ Jean-Philippe
MAYRARGUE Arnaud
MOATTI Alexandre
NONY Sylvie
OBRIST Barbara
OMARJEE Ismael
PATY Michel
PELLEGRIN Pierre
RICORDEL Joëlle
ROMMEVAUX-TANI Sabine
SMITH Justin
STAMENKOVIC Philippe
SZCZECINIARZ Jean-Jacques
UZAN Pierre
VERMEIR Koen
VILAIN Christiane
top of page
-->

Partenaires

logo Sphere
CNRS
Logo Université Paris-Diderot Logo Université Paris1-Panthéon-Sorbonne


Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS


Accueil > Axes de recherche > Histoire et philosophie des sciences de la nature

Histoire et philosophie des sciences de la nature


Cet axe a vocation à accueillir tout membre de SPHERE dont les travaux portent, en totalité ou en partie, sur l’histoire et/ou la philosophie des sciences de la nature. Il inclut donc les recherches sur la philosophie naturelle, sur l’histoire naturelle, les sciences physiques (y compris la chimie) et les sciences de la vie et de la terre de l’Antiquité à nos jours, dans toutes les aires géographiques. Sans exclure l’étude des contextes au sens large, il se caractérise cependant par un intérêt particulier pour les contenus scientifiques ou philosophiques.


Thématiques de recherche / Séminaires / Membres /


  • 1 Philosophie naturelle et sciences de la nature de l’Antiquité au 16e siècle 2018–2022
    La philosophie naturelle couvre, pour la période concernée, un large spectre de disciplines : de la théorie des éléments à la cosmologie, de la minéralogie à une partie de la psychologie, en passant par la botanique et la zoologie. Elle a pour fondement la théorie générale du mouvement et pour disciplines de voisinage d’une part les sciences dites intermédiaires : statique, mécanique, optique, musique, et d’autre part les disciplines d’application telles que la médecine, l’alchimie, l’astrologie.
  • 2 Histoire naturelle et sciences de la vie aux époques moderne et contemporaine 2018–2022
    Cette thématique regroupe des recherches portant sur l’histoire et la philosophie des disciplines consacrées aux êtres vivants (par exemple l’histoire naturelle, l’anatomie, les neurosciences, les sciences de l’évolution…) et des conceptions associées à ces champs, de la fin de la Renaissance à nos jours. Un accent particulier est mis sur l’émergence de nouvelles notions, leurs enjeux, leurs transformations et leurs liens avec les contextes. Les approches adoptées sont variées, et si l’histoire conceptuelle est privilégiée, c’est dans le cadre d’un dialogue étroit avec l’épistémologie, l’histoire des pratiques, des institutions, des textes et images scientifiques, etc.
  • 3 Méthodes, instruments et institutions de la physique moderne et contemporaine 2012–2017
    Cette thématique regroupe plusieurs thèmes de recherches de l’ancien axe “Physique et philosophie” du Rehseis. L’un de ces thèmes était plutôt théorique et concernait les modes, niveaux et ordres de description dans les sciences physiques. L’autre était plutôt expérimental et concernait la mesure et la métrologie. Enfin, certains chercheurs de l’ancien axe abordaient des questions institutionnelles comme l’organisation de la physique mathématique en France dans la première moitié du XIXe siècle. Ces trois thèmes sont fortement imbriqués.
  • 4 Sciences de la nature, mathématiques et philosophie 2018–2022
    Les sciences de la nature, leur histoire et leur rapport éventuel aux mathématiques sont susceptibles d’enquêtes philosophiques visant à préciser leurs concepts, objets, finalités et méthodes. Certains chercheurs de l’unité mènent cette enquête directement, en scrutant les fondements ou les pratiques des sciences considérées. D’autres préfèrent commenter et exploiter les réflexions d’acteurs de ces sciences. D’autres encore s’intéressent aux rapports réciproques qu’entretiennent science et philosophie à une époque donnée. La conjugaison de ces trois approches et la réunion des compétences d’historiens, de scientifiques et de philosophes, définissent le genre de philosophie des sciences ici proposé.


Séminaires



Membres / Thématiques /

Responsables
DARRIGOL Olivier
HASNAOUI Ahmad
SCHMITT Stéphane
Chercheurs - Doctorants - Post-doctorants
AFRIAT Alexander
BARBARA Jean-Gaël
BEN GHACHEM Asma
BEN SAAD Meyssa
BOSSI Laura
BRIZAY Eric
BUSTAMANTE Martha-Cecilia
CATREN Gabriel
CERAMI Cristina
CHÉRICI Céline
CORDONIER Valérie
D’HOMBRES Emmanuel
DAUDON Vincent
DE COURTENAY Nadine
DORON Claude-Olivier
DUPONT Jean-Claude
FAN Xue
FRANCESCHELLI Sara
FREUDENTHAL Gad
FRIC Jacques
GACHELIN Gabriel
GRÉGIS Fabien
JAULIN Annick
KATOUZIAN Mehrnaz
LACKI Jan
LADE Quentin
LAMOUCHI CHEBBI Kaouthar
LAY Juliane
MARTINEZ Jean-Philippe
MAYRARGUE Arnaud
MOATTI Alexandre
NONY Sylvie
OBRIST Barbara
OMARJEE Ismael
PATY Michel
PELLEGRIN Pierre
REGIER Jonathan
RICORDEL Joëlle
RODIN Andrei
ROMMEVAUX-TANI Sabine
SMITH Justin
STAMENKOVIC Philippe
SZCZECINIARZ Jean-Jacques
UZAN Pierre
VERMEIR Koen
VILAIN Christiane
ZALAMEA Federico
haut de page
-->