Partenaires

logo Sphere
CNRS
Logo Université Paris-Diderot Logo Université Paris1-Panthéon-Sorbonne


Search

On this website

On the whole CNRS Web


Home > Axes of research > Interdisciplinarity in history and philosophy of science

Interdisciplinarity in history and philosophy of science


Presentation / Thematics / Members /


Research in this area shares a common goal: to examine, historically, anthropologically and critically, the various historiographies of knowledge and, more broadly, to develop theoretical tools in history, anthropology and philosophy of science and technology.

Work is being done on the different writings of the past in science and technology as well as on the issues that the actors involved have associated with these companies and the impact these contexts have had on the shaping of these stories (project 5.1)

It questions the way in which anthropological approaches to knowledge can irrigate the reflections of history and philosophy of science and technology (project 5.2).

Critically, we examine the concepts and tools that have been proposed in the history and philosophy of science and technology in recent decades to better describe the variety of ways of practicing knowledge and grasping it. the collective dimensions.

Thus, the diversity of science practices is approached from the angle of the types of texts and inscriptions that actors have shaped in order to carry out their investigations (project 5.3).

It is also interested in the epistemological values ​​favored by given collectives, and, more generally, in the description of the learned cultures in which the practitioners operate (project 5.4).

There is a particular interest in work techniques in a broad sense and in the material and social environments in which they are deployed. In addition to practical and technical objects, we study operative knowledge in itself as well as in relation to science and society (project 5.5).

Finally, we examine the different practices that our actors have developed to shape numbers, quantities, measures and work with these entities (project 5.6).

Such a program requires interaction with other human sciences, such as linguistics, anthropology, or prehistory. It brings us to cooperate in a novel way history, anthropology and philosophy of science and technology, and thus to propose a particular form of historical epistemology. These projects finally require, to be carried out - and this is the challenge - that we can rely on the constant confrontation between case studies conducted in the most diverse disciplinary, professional or social contexts. They are intended to allow all members of the UMR to work together to develop their working tools, across the boundaries of disciplines, times and regions of the planet treated.



Thematics / Members / Presentation /


  • 1 Writings and uses of the past of sciences 2018–2022
    This theme is centered on the study of forms of construction of the past in the present, in their diversity and in context, as well as the uses of these forms in different social groups. One of the key objectives is to equip ourselves with critical tools vis-à-vis the historiography we inherit as well as to clarify the political, social and institutional issues that influence the writing of the history of Sciences. [...]
  • 2 Science field : uses of ethnography in history, philosophy and anthropology of sciences 2018–2022
    In line with the work undertaken in the sub-axis "Ethnographic approaches in the history of science" (2012-2017), the objective of this research group will be to explore further, theoretically and empirically, the way in which research in the history and philosophy of science may use ethnographic methods - broadly understood as field investigation as practiced by comparative and participatory ethnology, science studies or anthropology social and cultural. Anthropologists, historians and philosophers of science will come together to compare research approaches and results from different disciplines and theoretical and methodological traditions. [...]
  • 3 History of science, history of text 2018–2022
    The seminar "history of science, history of the text" is intended to continue and we will address the following topics, in order to prepare collective publications:
    – Temporality
    Various documents bear the marks of scientific activities taking place in time, and their internal structure, even material traces sometimes reveal the intervention of actors operating at different times or throughout a period of time given. Whether it is the scale of a calculation or the production of a figure, or even that of the preparation of critical editions or the annotation, how can one exploit these traces of temporality? This will be one of the issues at the heart of our collective work [...]
  • 4 Epistemological cultures, practices, work 2018–2022
    Many colleagues gathered around the issues that have been worked on in this sub-axis intend to pursue this research together. They set themselves the following objectives for the period 2018-2022:
    – Preparation of a collective work (book or special issue of journal) on the various mathematical cultures of the ancient world. The main purpose is to finalize the research conducted in the context of SAW and to identify the theoretical contributions to these questions that this particular site offers.
    – Continuing work on epistemological values. We intend to finalize the work begun on abstraction as well as that started on rigor. [...]
  • 5 Cultural and interdisciplinary history of techniques
    This theme is explicitly developed as a transverse axis of SPHERE. The aim is to promote a reflection on the technical aspects, the instruments and the material cultures of the sciences studied in the other axes, and, in addition, to question the relations with the general techniques, the engineering and the technology. Through the various supported and structural collaborations (ICT, Center Koyré, CNAM, etc.), the theme also aims to be a place of inter-laboratory collaboration.
    The theme brings together researchers who study historical overlaps between techniques and sciences in their cultural context, taking into account individual practices, material conditions, social and economic structures, and intellectual configurations. The term "technical" is understood in its broadest sense and covers technological objects, scientific instruments as well as technical actions and manipulations. . [...]
  • 6 Historical, philosophical and anthropological approaches to numbers, measurement and measurability 2018–2022
    The themes around numbers and measurement have been worked on since at least 2001 in the REHSEIS laboratory, then SPHERE, notably within the axes "history and philosophy of mathematics" and "history and philosophy of physics". Problems of an ethical or philosophical nature related to measurability in the human and social sciences or in medicine have been addressed in the other areas of SPHERE. In the course of this research, broader issues emerged which seemed to us to deserve to be approached from an interdisciplinary angle. We propose to open the following tracks, or to pursue them in an interdisciplinary way. [...]


Members / Presentation / Thematics /

In Charge
CHEMLA Karine
LACHENAL Guillaume
VERMEIR Koen
Researchers – PhDs students – Post-Docs
BARBARA Jean-Gaël
BARBIN Evelyne
BRETELLE-ESTABLET Florence
BULLYNCK Maarten
BUSTAMANTE Martha Cecilia
CHAIGNEAU Pierre
DA SILVA Alban
DECORPS Micheline
DE COURTENAY Nadine
DELON Patrice
DE VARENT Charlotte
DURAND-RICHARD Marie-José
GAILLE Marie
GREGIS Fabien
HAFFNER Emmylou
JAECK Frédéric
KELLER Agathe
LADE Quentin
LANCELOT Mathilde
LEJEUNE Edgar
LEPLEGE Alain
LLORED Jean-Pierre
MALET Toni
MAYRARGUE Arnaud
MEURIS Cesar
MORGAN Daniel Patrick
MORICE-SINGH Catherine
MOUNTRIZA Ioanna
PETITJEAN Patrick
POLLET Charlotte
PROUST Christine
RABOUIN David
REYNAUD Adeline
SCHMITT Stéphane
SHRON Alina
SMADJA Ivahn
STAMENKOVIC Philippe
SZCZECINIARZ Jean-Jacques
TROUILLOT Alexis
UZAN Pierre
VANDENDRIESSCHE Eric
ZHOU Xiaohan
-->

Partenaires

logo Sphere
CNRS
Logo Université Paris-Diderot Logo Université Paris1-Panthéon-Sorbonne


Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS


Accueil > Axes de recherche > Interdisciplinarité en histoire et philosophie des sciences

Interdisciplinarité en histoire et philosophie des sciences


Présentation / Thématiques / Membres /


Les recherches qui se mènent dans cet axe partagent une visée commune : examiner de façon historique, anthropologique et critique les diverses historiographies des savoirs et, plus largement, élaborer des outils théoriques en histoire, anthropologie et philosophie des sciences et des techniques.

On y mène des travaux sur les différentes écritures du passé des sciences et des techniques ainsi que sur les enjeux que les acteurs impliqués ont associés à ces entreprises et l’impact que ces contextes ont eu sur le façonnement de ces histoires (projet 5.1)

On y questionne la manière dont les approches anthropologiques des savoirs peuvent irriguer les réflexions d’histoire et de philosophie des sciences et des techniques (projet 5.2).

On s’y penche de façon critique sur les concepts et outils qui ont été proposés en histoire et en philosophie des sciences et des techniques dans les dernières décennies pour mieux décrire la variété des manières de pratiquer les savoirs et d’en saisir les dimensions collectives.

Ainsi on y aborde la diversité des pratiques de sciences sous l’angle des types de textes et d’inscriptions que des acteurs ont façonnés en vue de mener leurs enquêtes (projet 5.3).

On s’y intéresse également aux valeurs épistémologiques que privilégient des collectifs donnés, et, plus généralement, à la description des cultures savantes dans le cadre desquelles les praticiens opèrent (projet 5.4).

On y porte un intérêt particulier aux techniques de travail en un sens large et aux environnements matériels comme sociaux dans lesquels elles sont déployées. Outre pratiques et objets techniques, nous étudions les savoirs opératoires en eux-mêmes aussi bien que dans leurs rapports avec les sciences et la société (projet 5.5).

Enfin, on y examine les différentes pratiques que nos acteurs ont élaboré pour façonner nombres, quantités, mesures et travailler avec ces entités (projet 5.6).

Pareil programme requiert d’interagir avec d’autres sciences humaines, comme la linguistique, l’anthropologie, ou la préhistoire. Il nous amène à faire coopérer de manière inédite histoire, anthropologie et philosophie des sciences et des techniques, et à ainsi proposer une forme particulière d’épistémologie historique. Ces chantiers exigent enfin, pour être menés à bien—et c’est là tout l’enjeu—, que nous puissions nous appuyer sur la confrontation permanente entre études de cas menés dans les contextes disciplinaires, professionnels ou sociaux les plus divers. Ils ont vocation à permettre à l’ensemble des membres de l’UMR de travailler ensemble à élaborer leurs outils de travail, par delà les frontières des disciplines, des époques et des régions de la planète traités.



Thématiques / Présentation / Membres /


  • 1 Écritures et usages du passé des sciences 2018–2022
    Cette thématique est centrée sur l’étude de formes de construction du passé dans le présent, dans leur diversité et en contexte, ainsi que les usages dont ces formes font l’objet au sein de différents groupes sociaux. L’un des objectifs clefs en est de se doter d’outils critiques vis-à-vis de l’historiographie dont nous héritons ainsi que d’éclairer les enjeux politiques, sociaux et institutionnels qui influent sur l’écriture de l’histoire des sciences. [...]
  • 2 Terrain de sciences : usages de l’ethnographie en histoire, philosophie et anthropologie des sciences 2018–2022
    Dans la continuité des travaux engagés dans le sous-axe « Approches ethnographiques en histoire des sciences » (2012-2017), l’objectif de ce groupe de recherche sera d’explorer plus loin, sur les plans théorique et empirique, la manière dont des recherches en histoire et philosophie des sciences peuvent mettre en œuvre des méthodes ethnographiques – entendues au sens large de l’enquête de terrain, telle qu’elle est pratiquée par l’ethnologie comparée et participative, les études sur les sciences ou l’anthropologie sociale et culturelle. Des anthropologues, des historiens et des philosophes des sciences s’associeront pour confronter les démarches et les résultats de recherches venant de différentes disciplines et traditions théoriques et méthodologiques. [...]
  • 3 Histoire des sciences, histoire du texte 2018–2022
    Le séminaire « histoire des sciences, histoire du texte » a vocation à se poursuivre et nous y aborderons les thèmes suivants, en vue de préparer des publications collectives :
    – Temporalité : divers documents portent les marques d’activités scientifiques se déroulant dans le temps, et leur structure interne, voire des traces matérielles révèlent parfois l’intervention d’acteurs opérant à des moments différents ou tout au long d’une période de temps donnée. Qu’il s’agisse de l’échelle d’un calcul ou de la production d’une figure, voire de celle de la préparation d’éditions critiques ou de l’annotation, comment peut-on exploiter ces traces de temporalité ? Telle sera l’une des questions au cœur de notre travail collectif. [...]
  • 4 Cultures épistémologiques, pratiques, travail 2018–20122
    Nombre de collègues réunis autour des questions qui ont été travaillées dans ce sous-axe entendent poursuivre ces recherches ensemble. Ils se donnent les objectifs suivants pour la période 2017-2022 :
    – Préparation d’un ouvrage collectif (livre ou numéro spécial de revue) sur les diverses cultures mathématiques du monde ancien. Il s’agit pour l’essentiel de finaliser les recherches menées dans le contexte de SAW et de dégager les apports théoriques à ces questions que ce site particulier permet de proposer.
    – Poursuite du travail sur les valeurs épistémologiques. Nous entendons finaliser le travail débuté sur l’abstraction ainsi que celui amorcé sur la rigueur. […]
  • 5 Histoire culturelle et interdisciplinaire des techniques
    Cette thématique est explicitement développée comme un axe transversal de SPHERE. Il s’agit de promouvoir une réflexion sur les aspects techniques, les instruments et les cultures matérielles des sciences étudiées dans les autres axes, et, en plus, d’interroger les relations avec les techniques générales, l’ingénierie et la technologie. Par le biais des différentes collaborations soutenues et structurelles (ICT, Centre Koyré, CNAM, etc.), la thématique vise aussi à être un lieu de collaboration inter-laboratoires.
    La thématique rassemble des chercheurs qui étudient les chevauchements historiques entre techniques et sciences dans leur cadre culturel, en tenant compte des pratiques individuelles, des conditions matérielles, des structures sociales et économiques, et des configurations intellectuelles. Le terme « technique » y est entendu dans son sens le plus large et couvre objets technologiques, instruments scientifiques aussi bien qu’actions et manipulations techniques.. […]
  • 6 Approches historiques, philosophiques et anthropologiques des nombres, de la mesure et de la mesurabilité 2018–2022
    Les thématiques autour des nombres et de la mesure ont été travaillées depuis au moins 2001 dans le laboratoire REHSEIS, puis SPHERE, notamment au sein des axes « histoire et philosophie des mathématiques » et « histoire et philosophie de la physique ». Des problèmes de nature éthique ou philosophiques liés à la mesurabilité en sciences humaines et sociales ou en médecine ont été abordés dans les autres axes de SPHERE. Dans le cours de ces recherches, ont émergé des problématiques plus larges qui nous ont paru mériter d’être abordées sous un angle interdisciplinaire. […]


Membres / Présentation / Thématiques /

Responsables
CHEMLA Karine
LACHENAL Guillaume
VERMEIR Koen
Chercheurs - Doctorants - Post-doctorants
BRETELLE-ESTABLET Florence

BULLYNCK Maarten

BUSTAMANTE Martha Cecilia
CHAIGNEAU Pierre
CROZET Pascal
DA SILVA Alban
DARRIGOL Olivier
DECORPS-FOULQUIER Micheline
De COURTENAY Nadine
DELON Patrice
DE VARENT Charlotte
DURAND-RICHARD Marie-José
GABRIEL Justin
GAILLE Marie
GREGIS Fabien
GROSHOLZ Emily
HAFFNER Emmylou
HELMY Chekir
HILAIRE-PEREZ Lilliane
JAECK Frédéric
KATOUZIAN-SAFADI Mehrnaz
KELLER Agathe
GAILLE Marie
LADE Quentin
LANCELOT Mathilde
LEJEUNE Edgar
LEPLEGE Alain
LLORED Jean-Pierre
MALET Antoni
MAYRARGUE Arnaud
MEURIS Cesar
MOATTI Alexandre
MORGAN Daniel Patrick
MORICE_SINGH Catherine
MOUNTRIZA Ioanna
PETITJEAN Patrick
POLLET Charlotte
PROUST Christine
RABOUIN David
REYNAUD Adeline
SCHMITT Stéphane
SHRON Alina
SMADJA Ivahn
STAMENKOVIC Philippe
SZCZECINIARZ Jean-Jacques
UZAN Pierre
TROUILLOT Alexis
VANDENDRIESSCHE Eric
ZHOU Xiaohan
-->